1738 - 4 September.

Candidates: William Goodwin, James West.

Mr Goodwin elected, but handed in his resignation as Alderman [no longer an eligible mayoral candidate]; resignation accepted and Henry Clarson [sen.] elected to stand as Mayor.

Mr West elected (24-1) [129b-130b].

1745 – 2 September.

Candidates: Thomas Stokes [Mayor 1730/1, 1737/8], Thomas Bradford [Mayor 1739/40, 1752/3].

Mr Stokes elected (21-0), refused to serve and submitted to fine of 2 guineas. The amount of the fine had been discussed and amounts of 5, 3 and 2 guineas had been proposed.

Second election:

Candidates: Thomas Bradford, Edward Box.

Mr Bradford elected (19-1), did not accept and submitted to fine of 2 guineas.

Third election:

Candidates: Samuel Sansbury, Edward Box [Mayor 1733/4, 1740/1].

Mr Box elected (19-2), did not accept, fined 2 guineas.

Fourth election:

Candidates: Samuel Sansbury, Richard Wheatly [Mayor 1742/3].

Mr Sansbury elected. (20-0) [176b-180].

1750 - 3 September

Candidates: John Miller, Samuel Clarson.

Mr Miller elected (27-2), did not accept, fined 2 guineas, which he paid immediately to the Chamberlain [he would appear to have come prepared!].

Thomas Bradford voted to stand.

Mr Clarson elected (26-3) [206b, 207].

1754 – 2 September

Candidates: Edward Burford, William Overton.

Mr Burford elected (22-1), did not accept and paid fine of £5 to Chamberlain.

Henry Clarson voted to stand.

Mr Overton elected (18-5) [226b, 227].

1758 – 4 September

Candidates: William Deacle, William Greenall.

Mr Deacle elected (24-0), refused to stand, fined £5.

Samuel Clarson voted to stand.

Mr Greenall elected (22-2); he died in October, and on 1 November Samuel Clarson was elected [by the Common Council only] to succeed him for the remainder of the mayoral year [248, 248b].